The post positions for the 2019 Belmont Stakes have been set. Where a horse starts can play a key a role when it comes to horse racing. However, it’s not as big a factor at the 1 1/2 mile distance as it is for shorter races.

That’s not to say you should ignore where a horse starts. Horses on the far outside will have to run a slightly longer track, while horses on the far inside risk getting boxed in on the rail.

Below you will find a table with the post draw for this year’s race, as well as a look back over the years at how the different post positions have fared.

2019 Belmont Post Draw – Starting Spots For Each Horse in the Field

 3Master Fencer8/1
 5Bourbon War12/1
 7Sir Winston12/1
 8Intrepid Heart10/1
 9War of Will2/1

Belmont Stakes Post Positions Facts & Number of Wins

In the history of the Belmont the No. 1 post position has finished in the winner’s circle a record 24 times. That is a full 9 wins more than the next best. The No. 3 post position has delivered 15 winners, including back-to-back champions in 2011 and 2012. The No. 5 starting spot also has won this race 15 times.

There may be something to that inside position. This race is so long every step these horses can save will give them an advantage over their opponents.

Don’t be discouraged if the favorite doesn’t get the No. 1 spot. While Justify won last year out of the No. 1 spot, it was the first time since 1992 (A.P. Indy) that the odds on favorite won from the opening starting position.

It shouldn’t come as a surprise that there’s been more wins coming from the inside. The size of the field is typically small. There’s simply not as many opportunities for the outside starting spots to win. .

Believe it or not, there’s been five times when just two horses have started the race. Though it hasn’t happened since 1920 and likely will never occur again. It’s a big reason why those two starting spots have combined for 35 wins.

The largest field at this race was 15 back in 1983. Only twice have their been 14 horses who have competed in the race (1983 & 2013).

There have been only seven horses who have won with a double-digit starting post. Three have come in the last six years. The most recent being Creator in 2016 out of the No. 13 post.  Palace Malice won in 2013 from the No. 12 post and Tonalist won in 2014 out of the No. 11 post.

Wins By Starting Post Position

Post Position# Wins

More Belmont Articles