Heisman Trophy Odds

Daily Free Picks


Subscribe to Jimmy Boyd's Free Picks

The best free picks delivered to your email every single day!


One of the most talked about things heading into each college football season are who the favorites are with the odds to win the Heisman Trophy. But, trying to figure out which player is going to emerge is no easy task.

There is always a lot of discussion on what teams are favored to win the national championship, which teams are going over or under their season win totals, or who will make the CFB playoff too, which is what makes this sport so great.

So let’s take a look at the updated odds on who the top contenders are for this season.

Updated Vegas Betting Odds on Who Will Win Heisman Trophy This Year

TeamOddsImplied Probability
Jayden Daniels-145093.55%
Michael Penix Jr+12007.69%
Bo Nix+25003.85%
Jalen Milroe+100000.99%
JJ McCarthy+250000.4%
Marvin Harrison Jr+250000.4%

Before the season starts the obvious thing to focus on are the top players coming back and playing on national championship caliber teams.

However, with high expectations typically comes a lot of letdown. More times than not, it’s the player who comes out of nowhere that steals our attention.

Strategy for Betting on the Odds to Win the Heisman Trophy Odds

If you think you can sort through the contenders and pick out the winner of this year’s Heisman Trophy we have a few suggestions to give you a better chance.  This is what you have to consider before placing a bet.

Media Attention and Hype

The top thing to look for when betting on who is going to be voted on as the best player in the nation is media attention.  You have to remember at the end of the day the voters decide who to give the award to.

So, while it might go to the nation’s best player, it’s biased towards teams and players that are getting talked about the most.

A flashy player putting up great stats might have a better shot at someone who is methodical, just because that’s what media personalities want to talk about.

Elite Programs

If you look at the recent winners you won’t see any mid-majors producing Heisman winners.  Sure, there are outliers like Louisville’s Lamar Jackson in 2016.  There was also Houston’s Andre Ware and BYU’s Ty Detmer way back in the late 80’s/early 90’s.  But those three put up video game numbers compared to everyone else so it was impossible to overlook them.

Typically you are going to start with teams in the hunt for the national championship and go from there.  If the team isn’t dominating a major conference they just aren’t going to get the respect that they should, no matter how good they are.

Look at the Upcoming Schedule

Even if you plan on betting this future in the preseason, I recommend taking a look at the team’s upcoming schedule.  If the favorite starts the year out against a stout defense, they aren’t likely to put up gaudy numbers.  You can use this to your advantage by waiting a week to get your bet in and have it hopefully be at a better number.

On the other hand, if your guy is getting ready to play a bunch of teams that can’t stop anyone, better get your bets in fast.  As soon as he puts up a massive statistical day his betting odds are going to drop and you might see any value you thought you had disappear.

Even when we know what players to lock in on, we just never really know. The unpredictability is what makes this award so great.

Heisman History – Invitees, Standings, Voting Polls & Past Champions

List of Finalists Invited to Heisman Ceremony in 2022

  • Caleb Williams, QB, USC
  • CJ Stroud, QB, Ohio State
  • Max Duggan, QB, TCU
  • Stetson Bennett, QB, Georgia

Voting Poll Standings Last 5 Years

Voting Rank20222021202020192018
1stCaleb Williams (USC)Bryce Young (Alabama)DeVonta Smith (Alabama)Joe Burrow (LSU)Kyler Murray (Oklahoma)
2ndMax Duggan (TCU)Aidan Hutchinson (Michigan)Trevor Lawrence (Clemson)Jalen Hurts (Oklahoma)Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama)
3rdCJ Stroud (Ohio State)Kenny Pickett (Pitt)Mac Jones (Alabama)Justin Fields (Ohio State)Dwayne Haskins (Ohio State)
4thStetson Bennett (Georgia)CJ Stroud (Ohio State)Kyle Trask (Florida)Chase Young (Ohio State)Will Grier (West Virginia)
5thHendon Hooker (Tennessee)Will Anderson Jr (Alabama)Najee Harris (Alabama)Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin)Gardner Minshew (Washington State)

Every Player Who has Won the Heisman Award

2022Caleb WilliamsUSC
2021Bryce YoungAlabama
2020DeVonta SmithAlabama
2019Joe BurrowLSU
2018Kyler MurrayOklahoma
2017Baker MayfieldOklahoma
2016Lamar JacksonLouisville
2015Derrick HenryAlabama
2014Marcus MariotaOregon
2013Jameis WinstonFlorida State
2012Johnny ManzielTexas A&M
2011Robert Griffin IIIBaylor
2010Cam NewtonAuburn
2009Mark IngramAlabama
2008Sam BradfordOklahoma
2007Tim TebowFlorida
2006Troy SmithOhio State
2005Reggie BushUSC
2004Matt LeinartUSC
2003Jason WhiteOklahoma
2002Carson PalmerUSC
2001Eric CrouchNebraska
2000Chris WeinkeFlorida State
1999Ron DayneWisconsin
1998Ricky WilliamsTexas
1997Charles WoodsonMichigan
1996Danny WuerffelFlorida
1995Eddie GeorgeOhio State
1994Rashaan SalaamColorado
1993Charlie WardFlorida State
1992Gino TorrettaMiami (FL)
1991Desmond HowardMichigan
1990Ty DetmerBYU
1989Andre WareHouston
1988Barry SandersOklahoma State
1987Tim BrownNotre Dame
1986Vinny TestaverdeMiami (FL)
1985Bo JacksonAuburn
1984Doug FlutieBoston College
1983Mike RozierNebraska
1982Herschel WalkerGeorgia
1981Marcus AllenUSC
1980George RogersSouth Carolina
1979Charles WhiteUSC
1978Billy SimsOklahoma
1977Earl CampbellTexas
1976Tony DorsettPittsburgh
1975Archie GriffinOhio State
1974Archie GriffinOhio State
1973John CappellettiPenn State
1972Johnny RodgersNebraska
1971Pat SullivanAuburn
1970Jim PlunkettStanford
1969Steve OwensOklahoma
1968O.J. SimpsonUSC
1967Gary BebanUCLA
1966Steve SpurrierFlorida
1965Mike GarrettUSC
1964John HuarteNotre Dame
1963Roger StaubachNavy
1962Terry BakerOregon State
1961Ernie DavisSyracuse
1960Joe BellinoNavy
1959Billy CannonLSU
1958Pete DawkinsArmy
1957John David CrowTexas A&M
1956Paul HornungNotre Dame
1955Howard CassadyOhio State
1954Alan AmecheWisconsin
1953John LattnerNotre Dame
1952Billy VesselsOklahoma
1951Dick KazmaierPrinceton
1950Vic JanowiczOhio State
1949Leon HartNotre Dame
1948Doak WalkerSMU
1947John LujackNotre Dame
1946Glenn DavisArmy
1945Doc BlanchardArmy
1944Les HorvathOhio State
1943Angelo BertelliNotre Dame
1942Frank SinkwichGeorgia
1941Bruce SmithMinnesota
1940Tom HarmonMichigan
1939Nile KinnickIowa
1938Davey O’BrienTCU
1937Clint FrankYale
1936Larry KelleyYale
1935Jay BerwangerChicago

If you are going to learn how to bet on college football and actually win you need to have plenty of tools in the bag.  Most people focus on individual games, but adding some futures wagers like who is going to win the Heisman allows you to diversify, plus pick up some expected value in places the books aren’t working so hard on.